Steve ReichDuet for Two Solo Violins and Strings | Wyatt Underhill and Nikki Chooi, violins
Wolfgang Amadeus MozartSymphony No. 35 in D Major, “Haffner”
Caroline ShawWatermark Piano Concerto | Tanya Gabrielian, piano
Sergei ProkofievSymphony No. 1, “Classical”

The imprint of the past carries on in the work of composers today. This chamber orchestra program features compositions which look to the past with fresh eyes, from the dazzling Baroque-inspired counterpoint of Steve Reich’s Duet to Caroline Shaw’s Watermark, which expertly weaves strands and patches from Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto. As a finale, Sergei Prokofiev’s first symphony presents a reinvention of the music of Mozart— but with a distinctive twist!

Featured Artists

Christian Reif
Tanya Gabrielian
Piano Soloist
Wyatt Underhill
Violin Soloist
Nikki Chooi
Violin Soloist

This concert is sponsored in part by Deerwood Bank; the Center for Organizational Development; and John Sullivan.

Send this to a friend